Jinny’s Book Newsletter
Jinny Uppal’s Book Newsletter
Invitation to a Gratitude Giveaway and other goings on
0:00
-3:26

Invitation to a Gratitude Giveaway and other goings on

Book Newsletter 19

Hello,

I hope your year is off to a good start! Today I’d like to share book news and invite you to a Gratitude Giveaway.

Over the last two weeks, the ebook and paperback made #1 New Release in 3 Amazon categories. Best seller statuses change over time, but this is a big milestone and win!

There are a million things a first-time author should be doing to promote their book. In the spirit of living from the lessons of the book, I opt out of more ideas than I opt into. I didn’t do any ads or buy into mailing lists for the book’s online promotion. The rankings are largely a result of word of mouth marketing, a powerful thing.

As a thank you to my community (YOU) for supporting the book, I am launching a week-long Gratitude Giveaway, from today, Jan 24-31. I will giveaway three copies of the book plus an invitation to a private Author talk. Winners in the 48 contiguous states of US will get signed paperback, others will get ebook. In the spirit of expressing gratitude, please nominate people you are grateful for. This includes you. Consider thanking yourself for the wonderful person you are and for living through the past two crazy years!

The giveaway includes an invitation to a private Author Talk in which I'll be sharing my author journey and how I applied lessons from the book, while writing and publishing the book.

Nominate for Gratitude Giveaway

Other Goings on

Jyoti and Gavin from among you have pointed out minor errors that crept into the book, I found a couple more. My publisher has generously offered to make those corrections this month.

In the world of publicity, I have been doing podcast interviews as well as op-eds. I will get organized on sharing them methodically, for now I post them on social media as they get published. Speaking about a book is a different skill from writing the book, some interviews are very focused on a demographic (I did a Mom focused podcast last week) and others are focused on a subject matter (podcast on managing finances is coming up).

I will be hosting an in-person and online book launch party in March. Watch this space for invitations to those!

In other news, boxes and boxes of pre-ordered books arrived last week! Here’s what 167 copies of books look like. Unboxing and signing became a family event with my 6 and 4.5 year old nephews, their parents and grandparents. The younger one had a lot of questions on why I was signing all those books, whether I knew everyone’s name, how I know their name and why they want me to sign the books. He then proceeded to count from 100-167. Counting is still a thing with him, I think his choice of starting at 100 was an efficiency play. Both the kids asked if they can sign the books. I made a counter-offer that they can sign the books their Mama and Papa bought. I thought that was a clever save I came up, don’t you agree? ;-) I’ll post more signing videos this week on social media.

That’s all for today. Don’t forget to nominate people for the giveaway before Jan 31. Nominate everyone you’ve been wanting to express your gratitude for!

Cheers,

Jinny

0 Comments
Jinny’s Book Newsletter
Jinny Uppal’s Book Newsletter
Audio version of the newsletter published by Jinny Uppal on her journey of her newly published book 'IN/ACTION: Rethinking the Path to Results'.